View Full Version : How long will Gold Medallions last me?

icestalker
05-17-2010, 12:53 PM
I recently bought a pair of Riedell Gold Medallion (found a pair on eBay for $160, in the box, brand new- amazing, right?)
From what I found, I can use it up to axel, maybe some doubles? My old skates were White Ribbons 112 and they made my whole foot hurt when I started learning scratch spin and higher waltz jumps, so I decided I needed a more advanced boot, the Ribbons were rated for Basic 6 and I'm in Freeskate 2.. my mom told me my beginner skates were fine for me (...right):frus: so I was the one paying for new skates. Therefore, they HAVE to last at least 1 1/2 years so I have enough time to scrape up $500 or so for the next, more advanced, double jump boot. If only my mother spent as much on skating as she does on horses (She can spend eighteen hundred- yes, nearly two thousand- on a horse who is only going to be used as a trail riding horse- yet, she can't spend more than $70 on skates, and tunes me out when I lecture her on how I will break my ankle in skates that don't have enough support.)

Well I'm rambling so I'll get to my point. What level will the Gold Medallions last to? I weigh 110 pounds and skate 2 times, 4 hours per week. I'm about to start doing single jumps and so far have been working on scratch, sit, and back spins. I don't know if I'm a hard or light skater- it's not like I pound landings or anything? But in 1 and a half years I expect to have landed my axel and perhaps be working on double salchow or toe, can the skates support doubles? Very tiny doubles, I can be sure of. 8O