View Full Version : Mounting Ultima Matrix Blades

Gareth
04-06-2008, 01:56 PM
I've been searching for a while now and I have finally found somewhere in the UK I can get the Ultima matrix blade.

Before I order this blade I want to clarify one concern I have. I know on the jackson site it says the sole of the boot needs sanding flat for the blade to be mounted. is this necessary? I have Riedell 1500HLS

The reason I ask is I have never used Jackson blades and if i dont get on with them I will go back to JW or MK. My main concern is if the boots are sanded flat, I don't think I would be able to go back to the curved mounting plate on the JW/MK blades.

Also does anyone have any opinions on the Matrix blades, It will be used with either freestyle or elite runners, I'm on Wilson four aces at the moment working on all double jumps.

Query
04-06-2008, 05:29 PM
I'm not a true expert, but why not just use shims - e.g., strips of leather or tape or metal between the mount and boot, so the mounts surfaces are along flat planes?

Rusty Blades likes metal shims at

http://skatingforums.com/showthread.php?t=26211&highlight=metal+shims

Perhaps his worry is that leather or tape will compress, and eventually no be longer flat, and twist the runner. But you are trying it for a bit, so tape is easier, and reversable.

The Jackson Ultima catalog implies all Matrix freestyle blades are for people at the top of the sport. Some of the lower level non-Matrix Ultima blade sets are cheaper then Matrix chasis + runners. For me, as a very low level mostly dance skater, the Supreme runners have a long enough tail (compared to dance blades) that backwards threes are hard, because I have trouble leaning back enough.

Skittl1321
04-07-2008, 07:20 AM
Rusty Blades likes metal shims at
[snip]
Perhaps his worry

Honest mistake but FYI Rusty Blades is female.

As for the blades- I have no useful information, but know quite a few skaters around here who love them.

SkatingOnClouds