View Full Version : Insight on Progress

Sk8Dreamer
12-31-2006, 09:29 AM
I'm new to this forum and looking for some "second opinions," as it were, or advice on how to assess my progress.

I've been skating for 3 years--all private lessons, as the rink where I started didn't have adult group lessons at the time. For the first year or year and a half I was only able to fit in skating once a week; since then, I went up to 2-3 times a week. I'm now dropping to 2 times a week, because frustration is turning it into work instead of fun. Skating is the hardest thing I've ever tried, but I love it. Still...as I said, frustration is ruining the fun. So far, all I've learned is forward and backward crossovers, forward inside and outside edges, and a forward 3-turn (to be honest, I'm just now managing to work on that--I have a lot of trouble with fear and keeping myself from putting my free foot down on the ice). My coach is always working on having me refine the basics and says I need to "get" the 3-turn in order to be able to move on and do other stuff.

I have trouble because I'm always tense when I skate, which interferes with balance, I guess, and I'm afraid of speed, even though I understand that skating gets easier with more speed. I'm working on mental conditioning to overcome the fear (I hope it'll work!).

So what's my question? I'm not sure. I guess it's: Should I have been taught more by now, despite my natural slow progress? Should I push my coach to teach me more new things to work on, or should I trust his judgment? (I should say that I really like my coach: he is great at both demonstrating and explaining--I need a combination of both--he is extraordinarily patient, and he is wonderful about bolstering me at those times when I feel like giving up.) Any advice would be welcome.

Isk8NYC
12-31-2006, 10:40 AM