View Full Version : Suggestions on how to make best of Public Ice?

sk8mommy
01-16-2006, 10:24 PM
I've sort of posted this question before, and basically I have come to the conclusion that I'm stuck with public skating sessions for now. I'm a beginner, but a not hanging-on-to-the-boards-and-falling-down-all-the-time beginner. I do pretty good and can maneuver around people, things and have really only fallen a couple of times (read further, though, I haven't had the opportunity to do too much risky stuff that might cause me to fall)

I feel like I'm in a catch 22 situation regarding practice time. The only option I have right now is to practice during public sessions, which have been very crowded at best and dangerous at worst. I can manage to practice forward facing stuff that doesn't require too much --- basically some simple swizzles and maybe one foot glides and stopping. But in my opinion, I would be risking life and limb to try any backward moves, as these sessions are full of kids who either do not know or do not care that there are others on the rink....except for the little hockey ninjas who cut in front of everyone going in every direction. I don't mean to sound harsh or like I don't like kids. That's definitely not the case. It's just I'm being told by most on this board and also by the rink personnel (on the phone) that I need to be higher level (still didn't get clarification what this means..was told my coach could tell me) in order to be safe on a freestyle session.