View Full Version : Out of state competitions..

isakswings
01-15-2010, 08:39 PM
I'm still fairly new to figure skating and competing. Dd started competing about a yr and a 1/2 ago. I'm comfortable with the local comps and know what to expect, but I have NO clue what to expect from out of state comps. We were going to go to Vegas in August, but ended up not being able to go. I was talking to dd's coach and trying to figure out how much to expect finanically. This particular comp may involve enough students that it would make it easier to split the cost. The way I see it, is if I plan ahead enough, I can do an out of state comp about once a yr.

What I would like are some cost cutting ideas! What do some of you do to help keep the costs down while travelling? Do you bring coolers with lunch foods and breakfast foods in it? Do you share rooms and carpool(if driving) with other parents? I'd really like to take dd to this competition, but I'd also like to figure out how to make it work in the most cost effective manner! The bonus is that we have some family who live in the area we are thinking of going. They will be able to come and watch dd skate and that would be sooo fun!

Thanks!

sk8tmum
01-16-2010, 07:57 AM
I'm probably going to get grief for this ... but ... we deliberately DON'T try to go cheap when we're going out of state (out of province for us). They are usually major comps that matter, and we want our skaters to have their best showing. Thus, we get a good hotel room (booked way in advance to save $$$); we try to get a suite or kitchennette so we can cook healthy food instead of relying on scratch meals or restaurants; we will rent a larger car if we are driving, as our somewhat aged and small compact makes for scrunched legs, or we'll take a train. We want comfortable beds and somewhere they can sleep properly.