View Full Version : Registered MIF Rating

CoachPA
10-02-2009, 10:48 AM
I am just beginning to seriously consider taking my oral exam for a Registered MIF Rating (RM), and I am seeking the advice and guidance of those of you who may have already taken this exam or have experience with taking any oral exam.

I have the opportunity to talk with one of my first coaches who is triple-master rated and welcomed me to use her as a mentor in preparing; however, I'd also like to network and get some advice from those of you who have experience with oral ratings at any level. After all, you can never have too much of a good thing!

My first coach who I spoke with said that I'd be fine with ratings and that they aren't as scary as what everyone says. A second coach, who is Senior rated in freestyle and MIF, told me the complete opposite: that the examiners are intimidating and will know right off the bat if you haven't had experience teaching a particular level; that ratings are about as much fun as going to the gyno; that you need to know what you teach (technique), why you teach it, common errors, etc.; that anything "odd" you say will give them an opportunity to jump on you; and basically, that any pride or sensitivity you have will go right out the window after an exam. She offered to help me prepare, and I will certainly take up her offer, but she also sort of scared the crap out of me. I don't know maybe she just had some bad experiences...ratings can't be that bad, right?

A brief background: I have been coaching roughly 9 years with experience in coaching moves in the field, freestyle, group lessons (ISI), ice dance, and some synchronized skating (beginner-level and open collegiate level).

In January 2009, I took and passed my Basic Accreditation exam and recently passed my First Aid for Coaches Exam. In addition, I just attended my first PSA Nationwide Seminar two weekends ago. I am a full member of the PSA, USFS, and ISI.