View Full Version : When do you need new boots/blades?

xofivebyfive
03-05-2007, 05:42 PM
I was just wondering because I got new boots last April. They are only my
2nd pair. The first pair were about 100 dollars, some ankle support but not much and the toepick on my blades was TINY. When I started learning the waltz jump my coach recommended that I upgrade my skates because I was starting jumps and stuff. So I ended up with Coronation Ace blades and I have no idea what kind of boot I have. On the bottom it says Riedell Royal with a crown on top and thats the only place with writing on it except the inside which also says riedell. When the skate shop guy(who has been selling skates for like.. 35 years and is a major pro at it) asked what level things I was doing, I said was doing up to isi freestyle 1 so he said I should definitely have better skates and I got these. The blades were a major difference but since I hadn't learned to spin or jump yet I can't really tell how much of that was just because it was a shock to my feet.

So, my question is, when should you look into new skates/boots/blades. When you reach certain levels/jumps? After 1/2/3+ years? I started last April, (once my stress fracture is healed) I will be working on the axel and starting doubles soon after, am 16 and am 5"6' and about 125 pounds if that helps at all. 8O

They look like this kind of. It's possible that these are the skates, I know that the blades cost like, 250 and the boots cost 200. I have no clue why my parents coughed up that much money for some shoes.

http://www.edkicesports.com/item/19495/

LilJen
03-05-2007, 06:15 PM
1. Talk with your coach.
2. I know Riedell's website gives some guidelines as to which boots would be appropriate for each given skill level; other boot makers may have something similar.
3. Talk with your coach!

xofivebyfive
03-05-2007, 06:32 PM