View Full Version : ISI Testing

Icesparx
02-10-2007, 05:52 PM
hey all,
I'm having my first testing session this tuesday. I'm doing pre-alpha, alpha, and Beta. I know I'll be able to pass these ones but I'm worried about Friday because I'll be tested in Gamma and Delta. I'm having trouble with my outside and inside 3-turns and Forwad outside and inside edges. I just started learning them and I'm pretty bad. I'm worried I wont have them down by friday. My coach seems to believe I will re-learn all this stuff real quickly but I don't know. I'm just curious if any others had as much trouble with 3-turns and edges as I'm having. Is this normal?. I feel really discouraged. :cry:

Morgail
02-10-2007, 10:12 PM
Yup - perfectly normal. I found 3-turns to be the hardest element to relearn. I spent several lessons last summer drilling inside 3-turns (especially the left inside 3, which I never used after I'd first learned it years and years ago). Edges weren't the easiest thing for me to pick up again either. In fact, I had a harder time relearning the basics than I have had relearning spins or jumps. I guess it's because I learned the basics at a young age and then never really revisited them until I picked up skating again last year.

Anyway, don't worry too much about it - just keep practicing and they'll come back:) Ask your coach for pointers on arm/shoulder/hip placement for the 3-turns and edges...having everything lined up correctly makes these moves so much easier.

Icesparx
02-10-2007, 10:21 PM
In fact, I had a harder time relearning the basics than I have had relearning spins or jumps. I guess it's because I learned the basics at a young age and then never really revisited them until I picked up skating again last year.