View Full Version : just starting figure skating which skates advice plz

jimjamiejames
02-04-2007, 11:57 AM
fist off hey! im new to the forum but looks like a great place full of good info

im just getting into figure skating and want to get my own skates.

in my local shop they sell the jackson marquis an baleti classic in mens sizes and wondered what ppl thought about them.

at the mo im air on the side of the jackson cause they have 4 hooks unlike the baleti's which only have 3 and i thought the extra support might be good for learning. while looking them both up on the web a few sites say the classic is synthetic leather an some say its real leather so unsure on this.

anybody skated with these boots and what do you think plz

thanks in advance

Mrs Redboots
02-04-2007, 01:06 PM
Buy whichever fits your feet better. Tell the assistant that you need a basic beginner pair of boots and blades.

Stiffer isn't necessarily better - some boots are designed for people doing triple and quadruple jumps, and would be nearly impossible for a beginner to learn in. You need a beginner's boot right now.

jimjamiejames
02-04-2007, 01:10 PM
Buy whichever fits your feet better. Tell the assistant that you need a basic beginner pair of boots and blades.

Stiffer isn't necessarily better - some boots are designed for people doing triple and quadruple jumps, and would be nearly impossible for a beginner to learn in. You need a beginner's boot right now.

yeah i'll hold of the triples for now lol just wondered if anyone had any experience with either boot

sk8_4fun
02-04-2007, 01:21 PM
I had belati classics as first skates and they are real leather. they also are a slightly wider fit so they are very comfortable and didn't take much breaking in. I don't have any experience of the jackson ones though.

Helen88
02-04-2007, 02:58 PM