View Full Version : Crazy, I know, but Relocating & looking for rink info

sk8mommy
01-25-2007, 02:49 PM
I'm a 40 year old newbie skater (been skating for one year). Our family is seriously considering a move from FL to just about anywhere else in the U.S. that is more family-friendly. We are in the very preliminary research stages and are of course considering quality of schools, availability of jobs (I'm an accountant, hubby in Real Estate), cost of living, sense of community, etc. Most important is that people are friendly (I've been in Florida most of my life, and find it anything but....no offense fellow Floridians).

And last but certainly not least, if we're going to make a major move, I'd love to find a location where I can skate regularly without going through the hoops I've had to for the last year. I'd love to find a location where the rinks have a good amount of ice time available for a beginner skater & working mom --- whether it be low freestyles/general sessions in the early a.m./after work or public sessions that are not so crowded. It would be great to hear what everyone recommends. I've checked out arenamaps as far as rinks in various areas, but I thought that you guys might be a better resource for this kind of info...
Thanks!

doubletoe
01-25-2007, 03:11 PM
I can tell you that here in L.A. I've got all the ice time I could ever want, since there are at least 7 rinks within a 45-minute drive (incliuding two within a 15-20-minute drive). But the more rinks per square mile, the less a city may fit your definition of "family-friendly."

So what's your definition of a "family-friendly" city? Do you mean lower crime? More conservative culture? More affordable housing and cost of living? Less urban? If there are some locations you've already got on your list for other reasons, you might want to start by asking specifically about those.

phoenix
01-25-2007, 03:18 PM
Northern Chicago has some very nice areas, with a Ga-jillion rinks.