View Full Version : Ice Sk8s Mounting -Allignment, Crucial Fact

zerio
01-20-2007, 09:00 AM
Hi List

Ive read many many articles about it, but, here we find the chance to interact and clarify things.

I understand the boots shall be mounted 2/3 mms INWARDS. From my understanding the inwards allignment brings the blade parallel to an imaginary cetered line( right?).. its not only a twist on the toe area bringing the blade 2/3 mm inward which would place the blades not parallel to that imaginary centered line (which corresponds the longest outsole lenght). Is it correct? In another words, shall the blades be mounted inwards 2/3 in all its leght parallel to the imaginary centered or just the toe area should be moved 2/3mm inwards?

As far as I understand allignment is crucial... please, share your experiences with us. If any illustration, let us know the link.

Thanks.

Zerio

Beccapoo2003
01-20-2007, 10:26 AM
Hi,
I am not a professional, but have been through a lot regarding this issue.
I agree that blade alignment is crucial. I think it depends on where your own natural center of balance occurs. For instance, I'm a bit bowlegged and tend to supinate (walk on the outside edges of my feet) and have to mount the blades more towards the outside of the boot. Otherwise, it's almost impossibe to skate without falling to the outside. If you look at the wear on the bottom of an old pair of your shoes, it should indicate how you naturally tend to balance. (hopefully, I haven't made this even more confusing)!
Becca

zerio
01-20-2007, 10:47 AM
Hi,
I am not a professional, but have been through a lot regarding this issue.