View Full Version : What's the deduction for music too long?

phoenix
01-19-2007, 09:48 PM
Do anyone know offhand how large the deduction is for your music being too long? And, if it is too long, does the deduction increase if it's *really* over time?

For AN, the max is 1:40. Then we will take my music & re-cut it to 2:00, which is what I need for Lake Placid.

There's simply no way to nicely cut my music at 1:40, so we've decided I'll make the cut at 1:45 (the logical point), and take the deduction whatever it may be. But if I'm getting a dedction anyway, can I just go whole hog, cut it to the 2:00 it needs to be for Lake Placid, and be done with it? Will they stop the music at some point & tell me to get the *&^% off the ice?

WeirFan06
01-19-2007, 10:07 PM
There's simply no way to nicely cut my music at 1:40, so we've decided I'll make the cut at 1:45 (the logical point), and take the deduction whatever it may be.

I'm pretty new at this, so I could be wrong, but I think they don't officially "start the clock" until you start moving. That's the way it is for the kids doing standard usfsa competitions anyway. (I only know that because a few years ago my coach made a boo boo with one of her kids programs before a comp, and the kid had to stand there for like 15 seconds before she moved!) So if you had music that's 1:45, and then stood in your opening position for 5 seconds before you actually started moving you would probably be ok.

Like I said, I could very well be wrong, so if somebody tells you differently and they sound like they know what they're talking about... it's probably better to listen to them!!!

Oh, and as for the actual deduction, I'm not sure about any of that. But I don't think they'll stop your music or anything like that when they realize it's going long. Good Luck!

doubletoe
01-19-2007, 10:12 PM