View Full Version : back on the ice after 14 yrs

skatin83
01-08-2006, 02:06 AM
havent been on the ice for 14 yrs. did it when i was really little. when i was on the ice it didnt take long to pick it all up again could go backwards figure eights were good spins were kinda bad. was skatin and a little child was right behind me. then i forgot to stop abd kinda just freaked out. landed really hard on the ice and hurt myself. will go back on the ice cause it was really good. after it all happened i think i worked out what i did wrong. must havent dug the bacfk of the skate in the ice and then fell. did i mention im a newbie from australia. is there anyone else here who has just gotten back on the ice.

Kevin Callahan
01-08-2006, 02:35 AM
Yes. Well, in a manner of speaking. I was off the ice for a decade. I played hockey back in 1996. Of course, being originally from Chicago, I learned how to skate quite early and can't remember when I actually learned not to fall on the ice.

This summer I went out on rental skates to see if I could still skate. I found I could, but only after seriously blistering my feet. So I got some cheap skates and they served me well over the last six months or so, but I've recently picked up better beginner/instructional skates and am waiting on even better skates.

I have a coach, a regular training rink, another rink, as well as two rinks down at school. I guess that pretty much sums it up.

skatin83
01-08-2006, 03:03 AM