View Full Version : Hardest skill to master?

kempy
12-07-2005, 03:11 PM
I am currently doing a project at University on figure skating. I am looking at the problems in the development of figure skating skills. I was wondering if any of you have any opinions on what basic skills are the hardest to develop when you are just starting out in skating?!?!?

Any comments would be greatly appreciated! :)

phoenix
12-07-2005, 03:53 PM
You might get more info if you post this question in the "On Ice" forum as well. That's where most of the participant skaters hang out.

I think the answer can vary widely depending on the individual; but with that caveat, I can give some general answers based on what I've observed. I've been teaching for 7 years, children through adults.

1. for many people it takes a long time to learn to stroke properly, without using toepicks.

2. Mohawks seem difficult for both children & adults, but for different reasons. The children have a hard time grasping the concept & learning how to set the foot down correctly. Adults in general are not as flexible & just physically can't do it right away.

3. Spins take a long time, no matter what the age. They are just very hard.

4. Overall, it takes a very long time & many hours on the ice to look relaxed, make things look graceful and easy and flowing--even simple stroking or very basic footwork. It takes what my first coach called "mileage", meaning simply time spent on the ice. It can't be taught to a large degree & it can't be rushed.

5. Backward one foot glides tend to take a long time for adults; less so for kids.

I don't know how many things you're looking for, so I'll stop there. These are *really* basic things; I assume that's what you meant? Feel free to ask more if I've misunderstood! :D

loveskating
12-07-2005, 03:57 PM