skatingforums.com  

Go Back   skatingforums.com > Figure Skating > On Ice - Parents/Coaches

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2009, 01:04 PM
Alanna Alanna is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Spirals

Hello,

I'm currently competing in Novice and have a question about spiral sequences.

At the last competition I was in my spiral sequence was not given points at all. This could be due to not holding it long enough but this isn't my question exactly.

Looking into the rules it is stated that 'only the first three spirals in the spiral sequence are scored'.

If this is so... would a forward outside spiral-change of edge to the inside (change of edge spiral) be counted as one or two spirals?

My coach and I really don't know and it's a shame to miss points on an element you can actually do.

I have another comp this weekend and need a solution.

~ Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2009, 04:01 PM
Tennisany1 Tennisany1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Living in the Olympics
Posts: 0
I'm not a tech specialist so I can't answer your question but I was timing at a local comp a month or so back and the most common reason skaters seemed to get 0 for their spiral sequence was that the timing for each posistion started when their free leg was steady. Many skaters' free legs were not steady so they did not meet the time requirement for each position. I could hear the tech caller, who was seated beside me, talking about this.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2009, 05:34 PM
sk8ryellow sk8ryellow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 117
Did you do a footwork sequence before the spiral sequence? I believe that I heard you may have a spiral sequence or footwork sequence if you have both than the judges count which thing you did first.
__________________
2010 Skating Goals

1) Land Double Axel
2) Pass Junior Moves at the end of January
3) Pass Novice Free at the end of January
4) Pass Senior moves by september
5) Consistant double flips and double lutzs
6) Learn a new cool spin!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2009, 06:08 PM
aussieskater aussieskater is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 69
AFAIK, a FO change edge to FI is counted as 2 spirals not one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2009, 01:56 AM
ibreakhearts66 ibreakhearts66 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by aussieskater View Post
AFAIK, a FO change edge to FI is counted as 2 spirals not one.
Correct. The FO is one spiral, the FI is a second. Also, if you are changing positions, make sure you change the edge and the position separately.
__________________
Youtube Videos
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2009, 01:51 PM
SkatEn SkatEn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 164
From what I heard (I volunteered to do data entry for he judges), the counting of 3 seconds will only start when you hit the position and edge. If you have a 4 second split position but only 3 seconds were spent on a flat, then it's not counted.

Hit the positions AND edges, best to hold for 4 secs because your nerves may put counting off. If it's less than 3 seconds, then that may be where it's counted as SpSq0. Please remember to hold the last position long enough and high enough because I can't even begin to say how many skaters had a lower level called because of their last spiral. Last spiral usually has an issue of timing.

=D Good luck with your comp.!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 - 2005 skatingforums.com. All rights reserved.
Copyright © 2002 Graphics by Dustin. May not be used without permission.
Posts may not be reproduced without the first obtaining the written consent of the poster.