View Full Version : Considering Pairs

JSR
08-29-2003, 07:27 PM
Well, I've been skating for 4 years, and I'm seriously thinking about trying pairs skating. The problem is, I'm only in FS2 (Basic Grad), but skipping over 3 hopefully and into FS4 (Preliminary). What level should you be at before you try this?

Also, (heh, I'm just asking lotsa random questions,) how much taller than you should your partner be? I heard somewhere that 6" should do it, but I'd like to be sure.

I have a friend (or two) that I'd like to get involved with skating. Problem is, one of them lives one state away. He lives in my town, but he's away at college until summer and other random holidays. How do I try to convince them to start?

Anything else I need to know about pairs?:?:

sk8rbean
08-29-2003, 08:12 PM
you are ready to try pairs when you are a solid skater (IE you won't trip when you are lifting someone!

jp1andOnly
08-29-2003, 09:25 PM
i'd get my skill level higher. If you do find a guy you could practice stroking exercises and side by side jumps until a coach felt you were a high enough level. Stroking in itself can take a wack of time trying to master

Aussie Willy
08-30-2003, 02:17 AM
Hey if you have someone that you can skate with then why not. Just start off doing it for fun. I have friends who I just skate with and we do side by side jumps together just for practise. You will find your general skating can usually improve because another person can help push you along. And then if you both decide to get more serious then you can do that too.

There are no rules about this unless you really want to take it seriously. Just enjoy it!

Elsy2
08-30-2003, 09:14 AM
Originally posted by Aussie Willy