View Full Version : Starting Out -- I need support!!

luna_skater
04-27-2003, 09:15 PM
I knew this would be the place to come for some encouraging words!!

I've been skating my whole life, but I've been focused on synchro only for the past 11 years. I went up through Canskate and Canfigureskate and then quit to just do synchro. Although I've been skating for 16 years, I've never tested anything! So I bit the bullet and called a coach today who is willing to take me on for skills and dance. I have my first session tomorrow, and I'm so nervous and freaked out! The world of singles skating and testing is totally foreign to me! Help!

becca
04-27-2003, 09:24 PM
I totally love singles skating (and when i started out my coach thought that i would definately go into synchro). With the skills that you've learned in synchro you will probably have pretty good basics and that will make all types of singles skating much easier. Good luck and most importantly have fun! Definately let us know how it all went.

Elsy2
04-27-2003, 09:50 PM
You will be just great with singles and dance! I think you'll love having a new focus, and you will certainly zip through many early tests and have a great sense of achievement. The hardest part was calling that coach and making the decision. Now comes the fun!

arena_gal
04-28-2003, 09:08 AM
You're going to have so much fun. The hardest part is to learn (remember) the patterns, and once you've tested it you can forget it forever. Some judges aren't so picky on the pattern either as long as you show that you're a strong powerful skater with good edges.

Oh, the skills music just sucks, you're going to love waltzing 3's and mohawks :twisted:

luna_skater
04-28-2003, 02:52 PM