View Full Version : "I'll do ice dance once I can't jump anymore"...bu

backspin
06-18-2002, 04:36 PM
Has anyone else heard someone make this comment? I usually hear it from adults. I wish I could tell them dance is much harder than freestyle but they'll never believe me. I've worked so hard at my dancing, taken MUCH worse falls in dance than in freestyle, & it kinda bugs me to hear eveyone else plan to do the "easier" skating once they're too old to jump! I'm also thinking internally, "Yeah, good luck!"

1lutz2klutz
06-18-2002, 06:35 PM
I don't really think it's meant to be a sign of disrespect for your discipline- just a recognition that dance generally puts less pounding force on your body. I'm a physical therapist, and I've recommended that a couple of my clients move away from freestyle into dance when there were orthopedic issues I was concerned with. But I also recognize that the dance discipline requires much more precise edging and turns than does freestyle. One is not better or worse than the other- just different.

Chico
06-18-2002, 11:55 PM
Well, I'm one of those pains your talking about to some extent. I do and have learned some dance patterns, but I plan on leaving this for the most part for the time being. First of all I can only work on attempting doubles for a short period of time. I figure I better go for it why I can. Second, I can't spend more time or money on more ice time and lessons. I have made a choice to foucus on freestyle for the time being. Ice dancing is difficult in it's own way, but I disagree that it's harder than freestyle. Each has it's challenges. I know many older ice dancers, I don't know of any older freestylers who jump. Keeping this in mind I have made a choice, but not because ice dance is "easier", just because realistically I understand that one is less possible as an older person. Saying that, I plan on trying. =-)

Chico

dani
06-19-2002, 06:07 AM