View Full Version : Question about Adult Nats

Debbie S
03-12-2003, 10:18 AM
I'm kind of new to skating, so bear with me, but I'm curious about how qualifying for Adult Nats works. Since there is such a thing as sectional competitions, I'm assuming that to go to Nats you have to qualify out of sectionals, like the kids do? How many skaters qualify in each level? Also (and this is solely for curiosity purposes since it won't apply to me), is Masters basically one level of comp for anyone who skated when they were younger and reached a higher level than the current adult levels (Juvenile, right?)? Or is it divided up into Intermediate, Novice, etc? Also, is there a pre-Bronze level at Nats, or does it start at Bronze? Lastly, I know that other comps have separate comp categories for moves and freestyle, but I'm assuming at Nats it's just freestyle?

Thanks in advance. Of course, any comp for me is a long way off - I can't even do a loop jump yet and my spins are pretty lame, but I was just wondering for future reference.

mikawendy
03-12-2003, 11:41 AM
Hi, Debbie!

I think there is an Open category and Masters (and also Championship Masters?). The entry guidelines for AN have more info on the events offered (I think you can find a link on Don Korte's web page). I think you have to have passed at least Bronze FS (and therefore also Bronze MIF) to participate. I think the Open category is just that; whereas you'd have to qualify at sectionals for the Masters category.

I'm guessing there's not a Pre-Bronze category because in years past there has been a large number of adults participating; adding Pre-Bronze would create a greater influx of people.

I don't think that the entries are divided based on whether you skated as a kid. (Edited to say that each level is divided into age groups.) It just goes by your current test level and/or how you did at sectionals.