View Full Version : First Aid and injury question

Aussie Willy
03-11-2003, 06:19 AM
We sometimes have bad injuries at our rink in the public session. However I am really peeved with the attitude of staff who work there when something serious happens.

Anyway on the weekend, a guy in a public session fell over and dislocated his knee cap. He put it back in place himself, but was writhing around on the ice in agony. Also he was pretty big so was not going to be easy to get off the ice. I went up the office and asked if they could bring a stretcher out to help the guy off the ice, to which the response was "No we can't because it would be too emotionally stressful". I kind of just looked at the guy like "you have to be joking". He did not appreciate my look and obviously thought I was over reacting. However this rink has lost it's public liability insurance previously (but did manage to get it back and could re-open), but I am kind of thinking that as a trained first-aid officer I always have to assume the worst has happened and a stretcher would have the most suitable way to get the person off the ice.

Also a couple of weeks ago a woman damaged her ankle very badly (I don't think anything was broken) but I asked her if she wanted an ambulance to which she said yes, however the rink staff refused to ring for one (they did let her friend use the rink phone to call for one) and also the first comment the same staff member as above made "Well we will have to get her boot off". Thankfully he waited until the ambulance arrived and they could remove the boot. But I have seen him take boots off injured ankles without establishing whether the limb is broken or the severity of the injury. I must say if he did it to me I would certainly be telling him to _____ off.