View Full Version : After one year ...

quarkiki2
03-05-2003, 10:09 AM
After reading the plateau thread and realizing that I'm approaching the 1-year anniversay of my first skating lesson I thought I'd ask all of you adult skaters a question. What were you learning at your one-year mark and how far had you come? Did you start skating as an adult or were you a former child roller or ice skater?

One year ago I had been on the ice maybe five times in my life. I could not do forward stroking the length of the rink because it was too much distance and I was scared -- the width was about all I could do. I could do some pretty lame backward swizzles. That's about it. I wasn't exactly one of those beginners who couldn't move on the ice, but I didn't exactly take to it like a duck to water, either.

Now, unless lightning strikes twice and I miraculously get both FO3s before my test Saturday, I'll be taking ISI Gamma again. I've been working on three turns for five months now with little progress. I know that the skills from this level are very important and crucial for me to learn, but I'm getting frustrated -- so much so that last lesson I was bombing everything I tried, even stuff like lunges that I could already do. I think I need to re-adjust my expectations a bit as my schedule is leaving me very little time to practice outside of my lesson and I know how important that is. I'll have more time after the end of April and I plan to take as many summer camps that fit into my schedule.

So, anyway -- I'd love to hear your replies! Thanks and have a great week!

RoaringSkates
03-05-2003, 10:25 AM
I've been skating for four years, and only just now started testing. I passed my ISI gamma test. Although I have skills above this level in some areas, I'd never learned a hockey stop, so some things were new.