View Full Version : beginner skills

DancinDiva
01-31-2003, 08:59 PM
Okay, as some of you have read, I'm getting a bit bored in my adult beginner lessons. I've had three lessons and have so far learned right and left foward crossovers, and can skate backwards a little. My instructor is sort of ignoring me and focusing on the more advanced adults in my class, and leaves me to do crossovers by myself around the stupid hockey circle. I really feel ready for something new. What skills should I ask my instructor to teach me next?Because I think if I don't ask I'll be doing crossovers forever! What else should someone going into a fourth lesson be picking up? Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Clarice
01-31-2003, 10:27 PM
Oh, man! I've been skating for 7 years now, and I still practice crossovers every single day! I doubt you've got it down after only 3 lessons! :) However, I do sympathize with your desire to try new things. My first instructor made us skate forward with our arms extended in front of us (a la The Mummy) for an entire term of lessons! Boring!!! How about starting back crossovers or three turns next? Or start Moves in the Field?

backspin
01-31-2003, 11:04 PM
Back crossovers
1-foot glide on edges, forward & backward
(becomes edge rolls)
stops (snowplow stop & T-stop are the 1st ones)
2-foot turns, forward & backward

once all of those are secure, you'd move on to

3 turns
mohawks
hockey stops
lunges & spirals
2-foot spin

That's what's coming to me off the top of my head at 11:00 at night. Hope that's helpful.

batikat
02-01-2003, 05:49 AM
I know rinks and countries are different in the order in which they teach things - but if it's any help here are the things we learnt in order.

Forward skating
Snowplough and T- Stop
Back Swizzles
Forward 1 foot glides L & R
two foot turn

Extended forward glides
Backward alternate pushes
Forward Spiral
hockey stop
stepping from backwards to forwards

Forward outside edges L & R
Forward inside edges L & R