View Full Version : I finally got skates that fit!

icenut84
06-04-2002, 04:58 PM
WOOHOO!
I travelled to the rink at Nottingham today (quite a trek!) to buy new skates. For those that don't know, I had to get new ones because my old ones (17 months old) didn't fit properly, they were too big. Basically, because I didn't know at first, I've been wearing two pairs of socks in them. My feet have moved around in them for ages, especially in my heels which can be very painful. The woman in the shop said it might be because when I bought them I was a total beginner and now I'm not. After mentioning it on FSW, I got urgent replies that I needed new boots immediately, that I was risking damage to my feet and that two socks and moving heels is really bad. So anyway, I finally get there, and the woman in the shop must have spent about an hour and a half on my feet! She looked at my old skates and basically told me that I could break my ankles in them!!!! There's a deepish crease on the outside or each. She tried my feet in about a million different pairs of boots, and it turns out my left foot is smaller than my right. We also had problems with my little toe on my right foot being squashed. I thought I was going to have to go with customs, but I got skates the right size for my bigger foot. On this foot I will wear a normal thin sock, and on the other I have to wear a totes sock (totes - you know, the thicker kind with the grip on the bottom). I tried the boots out on the ice for a couple of minutes and they certainly fit a lot better than my old ones! Phew! I just have to get the right one stretched a bit over my little toe. It felt so weird not being able to bend my knees though - that's the one thing I'm not looking forward to, the breaking in! lol. The blade is a standard-type one that came on it. The toepick is a different shape which I'm a bit worried about - I might either change blades to my old ones, or buy new ones. (I want better blades anyway) I've gotta talk to m