View Full Version : heat moldable boots?

kayskate
12-24-2002, 06:20 AM
I have been wearing custom Harlicks for several years w/o any problems. I have no break in period at all w/ them and no pain of any sort. Overall, I am very pleased w/ them and have not considered switching until recently. These boots are very expensive and I am interested in a lower cost option.

I have heard about the heat moldables. Graf? They are less expensive and can achieve a good fit. Does anyone have any experience w/ these? Have you gone from a satisfactory custom to a moldable? What was your experience? Is the savings worth it?

Kay

love2sk8
12-24-2002, 11:49 AM
A cpl years ago, I had Risport Super Cristallo (spelling) and I switched to Grafs about 3 years ago. Since then I've had a pair of Edmonton Specials, and i'm in Graf Galaxies right now. They are AMAZING!! I'm so happy with them, and I'd never switch. Heat moulding is awesome, because it is shaped to your foot, whereas the risports or other kinds will give you more blisters trying to get your foot used to the stiff boot. I've had the pair im in right now for about a year and a half (doing double, triples) and theyre not broken down yet. You should try the Grafs out, but make sure that they go with your foot shape...my feet aren't narrow, and they still fit right, despite the fact that theyre made for a more narrow foot. I have absolutely no regrets with Graf.

IceAngel725
12-25-2002, 09:47 PM
well... i don't think i can exactly answer your question, but my reponse might be somewhat relevant...

I have heat moldable riedell (sp?) skates and the man who fit them said they were a perfect fit to begin with and besides rubbing on one of my ankles there was no break in period! of course after skating for over 2 years with skates that weren't fit right anything would be good... but these are exceptional.