View Full Version : Ignored by coach - what to do?

ChristianeDK
10-31-2002, 04:47 PM
I've just come home from the rink and yet again I feel I haven't got as much out of the session as I should... Today a man who was at practise for the first time asked me if I was an assisting trainer - this might sound flattering but instead it made me think. Even though you could see he had been skating a lot, you could also tell he'd never taken lessons, so he wasn't able to judge by my technic that I'm not on a level to teach anybody - far from it. ;) But he must have noticed two things: 1) I was perhaps a little faster than the other seven in our group, and 2) I didn't get any attention from our coach. :frus:

I'm in an adult class which practises twice a week with two coaches - one for the more experienced end one for us beginners. I started skating a year ago and I guess I've become one of the best in my group - partly because a lot of new skaters began this season. From the beginning I've had some (small) problems communicating with my coach, but now I don't feel she's coaching me at all. :roll: She never tells me anything and if I ask for her help I often feel she doesn't understand me - almost as if I'm in the way. I'm B]sure[/B] it's not personal but it still makes me frustrated...:(

I'm certainly not good enough to advance to the other group in the class but I'm not making any progress like this since she doesn't give me anything to work with. I've talked to some of the others but it doesn't seem to be as big a problem to them as for me. Have any of you experienced this? What did you do? :?:

Alexeiskate
10-31-2002, 05:48 PM
I dropped the coach. I like my previous coach very much, but he would often give up my lesson time or reschedule my lessons in order to accomodate his competitive students without telling me beforehand. So one day I just said "Bye-Bye".

skaternum
10-31-2002, 05:58 PM