View Full Version : Any way we can save the On-Ice threads before the Board shuts down for good??

aussieskater
08-27-2010, 07:20 PM
I just saw Adrian's post at the top of the board! I'm about to cry - this has been such a nice board to be on. So many of the others are either frequented by youngsters rather than adults, and/or they're snarky.

Does anyone have any idea how we can save the On-Ice threads? Having them available to search has been a lifesaver for me, in more ways than one!

icestalker
08-27-2010, 07:33 PM
I was wondering the same thing. I have no technical knowledge, but is there any way to save them in some sort of cached form, or something? Or are they downloadable?

disclaimer: i have no idea what i'm talking about, as you can see.

Isk8NYC
08-27-2010, 07:57 PM
After you open a thread, click on the "thread options" link at the top of the page.

Select "Show Printable Version"
The first 40 posts in the thread will be displayed on a plain-text page.
<alt><file><save as>
Type a unique file name and change the "Save as type" to "Text File (*.txt)"

Page forward to capture the next 40 posts, then repeat until done.

I asked Adrian if we could somehow archive the On Ice forums to plain text, but I don't know if that's possible. It might be a lot of work for him.

renatele
08-27-2010, 08:06 PM
Hmm, archive.org seems to have been regularly visiting the forum, see this: http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://skatingforums.com

It would seem that the last "update" was in 2008, however if you click through to the saved pages, and then go to particular forums (like "on ice - skaters"), you will see even today's posts there, saved on archive.org. Big problem, though: there is no easy way to navigate the forums back in time through archive.org, and only the board default 2 weeks are shown. I have to play around with this...

oniceagain
08-27-2010, 08:11 PM
Would someone else be able to take over this site from adrian? Maybe we could collectively keep it going.

dbny