View Full Version : Hi newbie here!

Lullsbud
08-24-2010, 01:08 PM
Hi guys, I have just signed up to the forum.

I am 18 and am just starting to learn to figure skate. I have ordered some ice skates, the brand is Roces... are these any good? I thought I thought I would get them as they were the cheapest and I didn't want to spend to much on a pair of skates incase I couldn't get the nack of skating.
I can go around without falling over.

Was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on how to look after the ice skates and any advice or tips on how to ice skate, e.g. go backwards and stop.

Hope to speak to you all soon!
Lauren

Isk8NYC
08-24-2010, 01:16 PM
Welcome!

I've never heard of Roces. Definitely not a name brand.

Cheap skates are usually not good for figure skating, but you might be okay using them in the beginning just to skate around the rink. Most people replace the cheap beginner skates after a few months because they find they hurt, lack support or prevent them from doing turns, spins and jumps correctly. Riedell, Jackson, Graf, GAM, and Risport are good brands of figure skates. Don't buy the bottom of the line - this is the only piece of equipment needed for this sport. Since you've probably stopped growing, skates are a great investment that will last a while.

There are some good sticky threads here on caring for skates http://www.skatingforums.com/showthread.php?t=20328

If you look on YouTube, there are a some videos with keywords like "How to Ice Skate" and "Beginning Figure Skating" that are helpful.

Your best bet is to invest in group lessons. Your rink should have a brochure online or near the front desk. They're reasonably priced and provide some great social opportunities to mingle with other skaters and coaches.

icestalker
08-24-2010, 01:29 PM
Welcome :)