View Full Version : Getting back to skating, I think...

Casey
07-31-2010, 01:14 AM
I took off from work early today, and watched the senior pairs short programs today since there's a national competition currently going on here in Indianapolis. Is anybody on here attending as well?

I found it very inspiring - I pretty accurately guessed the approximate placing before the scores were announced for each pair.

I went skating on a public session afterwards. I've been neglecting my skating for three years only skating once every couple months. That ends now. I'm going to start skating at least a few times a week from here on out and get myself back into better comfort level and start getting my skills improving again. Public sessions are very cheap here ($4 for two hours). I can't afford coaching yet as I've been paying off debt and that has been my primary excuse for not skating more, but at this point there's so much I can do on my own since I've gotten so out of practice anyways. All that neglect has done is gotten me worse off and older. :P

In a few more months my debts will be all gone and I'll start getting routine coaching, and hope to then start testing and competing.

I've also been battling health issues for a long while now, but I think perhaps the best thing for my health is to just ignore it and start being more active again. If I'm healthy enough to get out there on the ice and skate, I will.

Perhaps one day I will be able to skate pairs... *sighs dreamily*

katz in boots
07-31-2010, 03:45 AM
Welcome Back !!!

drskater
07-31-2010, 09:42 AM
Go for it!!!

Purple Sparkly
07-31-2010, 05:24 PM
I saw you on that public session... I'm actually about to head back down there this evening to teach, but I was just skating last night.

Casey
08-01-2010, 07:47 AM
I saw you on that public session... I'm actually about to head back down there this evening to teach, but I was just skating last night.