View Full Version : What's the status of Figures in today's skating world?

drskater
07-20-2010, 02:25 PM
I’ve noticed quite a few threads that refer to Figures these days. I understand that some of the new MITF tests require a Figure component and perhaps this fact accounts for a growing interest. However, I’m curious: are Figures making a serious comeback across the nation? Is there genuine momentum to revive them?

I’m lucky because my coach has her Eighth Figure and lots of experience teaching them. But what about the younger coaches? Are rinks or clubs booking patch ice and is there enough interest to make such sessions viable? Does there remain a substantial pool of the proper judges to adjudicate figure tests (i.e still alive and kicking?).

I’m thrilled with the idea of Portland’s All Figure Competition and hope to compete there sometime. Yet I’m a total beginner, like most people these days. My own club is hosting a free School Figures Workshop this September to try to educate the young skaters in the basics (we’re fortunate that our old rink ‘s floor is not white, so when the ice goes in the surface is dark enough to really see tracings).

Anyway, I’m intrigued and would love to hear what’s going on in your part of the world. Thanks!

Isk8NYC
07-20-2010, 02:38 PM
Our skating camps (adult and children) included a Figures session this year, but it was primarily for the low-level skaters, to build edging and figure eights. The rink is also running a midday Figures and Edges group class one or two days a week. I have noticed other rinks in NC mentioning figures on their lists of on-ice classes, but I don't know how often those classes actually run. They may have been listed on the website/brochure to gauge interest.

The new USFSA Preliminary Moves test includes inside/outside eights, but they're a modified version.