View Full Version : Time for new blades- MK Pro or ??

Laura H
07-13-2010, 09:20 AM
I've been skating in my MK Pros for a few years now and am getting down to just a few sharpenings left - also I think the rocker is really getting flat anyway. I'm an adult skater, medium build, currently working on sit spin, loop and flip . . . and I went straight from rec blades to the MK Pro, so I don't have a whole lot of experience with different sorts of blades. Would love any input/suggestions as to whether I should just stick with the MK Pros, or are there other blades out there now that I should consider as well? I was still struggling with learning a one-foot spin and waltz jumps when I first got the MK Pros, so it's not like I had a lot of insight into how the MK blades affected my jumps & spins, LOL!! TIA for any insight/experiences you can share.

SkatEn
07-13-2010, 10:01 AM
1. Ask your coach and the skates pro. Do remember that your coach might have bad experiences with certain brands/models, and that doesn't mean that those brands/models won't work for you. Your proshop guy may also be influenced by wanting to clear inventory/selling you the available blade/lack of experience.

2. Research. The search function will show up a lot of the forum posters' experiences with different blades and rocker. MK Pro has a 7' rocker. Some people love them, some people hate them.

3. Ask your fellow skaters and have a close up look of their skates. I do tend to look at the nicks etc. Seems like some blades are more prone to getting nicked.

> My experience
I wasn't every in MK Pro, but went from MK 21 to Ultima Legacy to MK Gold Stars.

No opinion on MK 21 since I had them on a wrongly-sized 250 boots when I should be wearing 235.