View Full Version : Canting Blades

AgnesNitt
06-24-2010, 05:57 PM
I have bad pronation caused by a shortness in the first metatarsal (morton's foot).
I have an orthotic, custom built for skates that improves but doesn't fix the situation. The result is my blades have to be off center (but not as much off center as they were without the orthotic)

So I'm an engineer, I have an extra pair of old skates and i'm thinking of some other solutions since I have a pair of skates I can mess with. Recently I came across some Bont carbon wedges (http://www.bont.com/shop/product.asp?ItemID=812&Start=0) for 2 point inline skates. These allow you to put some angle on your blades. I've had this before (piece of leather or a washer), but with these carbon wedges I could get some serious angle. I've got some ideas for handling the 4 point figure blades vice the inline 2 point blades.

Anyone have any experience with canted blades. I mean some serious canted blades? Do they work, or after you reach a certain angle does it become problematic? I'm willing to video my experiments and make reports.

Query
06-24-2010, 07:06 PM
You could augment the orthotic by adding a little athletic tape under the inside of the foot, making the whole orthotic tilt to one side. This causes the entire boot to tilt to the desired angle, instead of just the blade. If the correction is bad enough, you might need to reshape the interior of the boot so you don't get too much excess pressure on one side.

You can also add moleskin to the inside of the boot, on the inside side, at ankle height, and add it above and below the ankle on the outside side, so differential pressure from the boot tends to force the ankle straight. Or throw away that expensive orthotic, and modify your own insole with tape to the shape you really need.

(Maybe you don't want to completely correct the pronation, if doing so makes your foot uncomfortable or unhealthy? That's a matter to discuss with your doctor.)