View Full Version : Synchro for Beginners

katz in boots
05-06-2010, 03:43 AM
I know there aren't that many synchro skaters here, but am hoping for some help from adult skaters who do some.

We have just started a small adult synchro team, at this stage 6 members which doesn't sound many, but it's a 1/4 size rink, so 16 would be unworkable. We don't have that many adult skaters either :lol:. It is a real range of skating abilities too, from almost total beginners who are yet to learn crossovers, through to Adult Silver level.

We don't have a coach either; tho there was one who did some synchro with younger skaters, she has left. Which means I ended up running our first session and I have never done synchro, so I don't have much of a clue. I did do marching though, which has some similarities (no, not batton twirling).

Apart from learning to skate together, stop together etc, I am wondering what skills we should work on, and whether there are resources that might help me when it comes to choreographing a program. (I live at the end of the world, there isn't any help here). I need help with arm holds, how to transition from a line to blocks, anything !!!!

I'm also wondering how a synchro practise is usually structured, what teams work on, how they warm up etc.

Methinks me bit off more than me can chew 8O

aussieskater
05-06-2010, 06:42 AM
Katz, eat the elephant one bite at a time, and before you know it the elephant will be gone! (And you'll have indigestion, but let's not go there.) I can't help with choreo, but I can tell you what we work on.

First thing you need to work out is the aim of the group. I'm guessing Aussieskate, but not sure of the new levels (you'd have been level 1 development under the old system I think).