View Full Version : Adult skaters - questions from a newbie

amethyst
10-15-2002, 12:29 PM
I've been a fan forever but I cannot skate! Well, I can get around the ice without holding on to the wall most times (with some balance checks and wobbles) but that's the extent of it, and that's on a good day.

I've considered learning to skate for a long time but I am 32 (and pretty out of shape) and am wondering if it's too late to learn. So I had some questions, mostly for adult skaters but anyone's free to answer. I'm curious as to what I can expect:

1. When did you start skating (age)?

2. How long have you been skating?

3. How often do you skate (hrs per day, days per week)?

4. Do you take private lessons, group lessons or are you self-taught? Details/frequency of lessons?

5. Do you own your own skates and do you think it's possible to learn (at least at first) with rentals?

6. What is your current/highest skill or achievement (jump, spin, move, etc)?

7. What is your next realistic skating goal?

8. Have you ever injured yourself beyond bumps and bruises (this is a scary thing for me, LOL :lol: )?

9. Do finances or lack thereof play a large part in your learning to skate and enjoyment of the sport?

10. What has been the easiest part, and what has been the most rewarding?

11. What has been the hardest, and what has been the most frustrating aspect?

12. What advice would you give to a newbie?

Thanks for your answers!

(edited to add 2 more questions ;) )

JDC1
10-15-2002, 01:14 PM
1 year and 1 month

I skate 4 times a week - about 6 hours worth
4. Do you take private lessons, group lessons or are you self-taught? Details/frequency of lessons?
I take group lessons every week and then every other week (when I can afford it) I take private lesson as well as groupl.

5. Do you own your own skates and do you think it's possible to learn (at least at first) with rentals?
I owned my own (very cheap) skates and think it's fine to learn the very basics in rental skates.