View Full Version : Two newbie questions -- swizzles and 1st skates

helikias
02-26-2010, 06:52 PM
Hi everyone!

I am brand new to skating. I am 39 and took my first figure skating lesson last week.

I have two questions:

1. When doing swizzles, I am having terrible trouble getting my feet back together in front at the end. What am I doing wrong? The instructor said t pull in with my inner thigh muscles, but I am not catching on.

2. What brand of skate would you recommend for someone who wants decent skates, but can only spend about $150 or so?

Thanks in advance! :)

dbny
02-26-2010, 10:33 PM
Welcome to skating and to SkatingForums!

Before you do forward swizzles again, just stand still and put your heels together and your toes out (like you are getting ready to start a swizzle). Then switch to toes touching, heels out. Do this several times while standing as still as possible. This will help you determine if the problem is with your ability to point your toes in. If that is part of the problem, then do the heels touch/toes touch as an exercise before swizzling. This is the result of very open hips, which will be an asset later on!

The most common problem in bringing the feet back together on forward swizzles is caused by shifting the weight to the front of the blades. That will stop you every time. It's most often caused by looking down and/or bending forward at the waist. Keep in mind that your weight has to stay a bit to the back of the blade, and keep your knees slightly bent even as you straighten out your feet and pull in.

Unless you have very narrow feet, I like Jackson. Take a look at the boot & blade combinations. For very narrow feet, Riedell is a good choice. Every boot is shaped a bit differently, though, and Riedells have a very deep heel cup, which will cause bumps on your heels if your heels are fairly straight at the back (down the achilles).

Isk8NYC
02-27-2010, 02:58 PM
For forward swizzles, think about using your KNEES.