View Full Version : Do you or have you given tips to other Skaters at a Public Skate?

FSWer
02-17-2010, 08:26 PM
Say,I was just wondering if any of our Skaters here when they go to a Public Skate have ever given tips to other Skaters?

sk8ryellow
02-17-2010, 10:17 PM
At my home rink I do it all of the time because it is sad to watch people struggle, the people at my rink dont care cause I assist on learn to skate but at other rinks I try not to because they get mad for some reason.

Layne
02-17-2010, 11:02 PM
I do as well, not that I have a lot of advice to give. Usually it's just "you better tie those tighter".

FSWer
02-17-2010, 11:07 PM
At my home rink I do it all of the time because it is sad to watch people struggle, the people at my rink dont care cause I assist on learn to skate but at other rinks I try not to because they get mad for some reason.

In what way don't they care?

Isk8NYC
02-18-2010, 07:48 AM
I'm in a different position because I'm a coach as well as a skater. I usually remark on too-loose skates, especially if there's a parent with a young child. I also drop not-too-subtle hints (think: sledge hammer) about wearing a helmet for young kids, explaining that they're top-heavy and their heads will hit the ice like a bowling ball when they fall.

If there are skaters I know from classes, and if they make eye contact with me or say hello/ask for help, I'll suggest corrections in their skating. Things like "keep your feet straight," "check that turn first," and "don't open your hip; stand up straighter." But I won't teach anyone else's private students. I change the subject if they come up to talk to me ("How's school?") or suggest they ask their primary coach. I don't want any friction with another coach.

Newbies that try to imitate me, I'll give a quick two-foot spin lesson or pointers on crossovers, things like that. Only if they get my attention first; I don't go looking for them.