View Full Version : More skate fitting woes

Audryb
01-28-2010, 09:05 AM
Right now I’m still in my first pair of skates— Jackson Freestyles, size 5 B, which I bought after my second group lesson (absolute beginner) just by trying on what the pro shop had to offer. I’ve known since I started jumping that they’re much too wide in the heel, because my heel flops around, especially on loops. I’ve added heel wedges under the insoles to push my heels up into the slightly narrower part of the heel, and have stuck those little clear heel things for high heels into them and the combination makes my heels move less, but they’re still a bit too wide.

I’ve also felt for a while like they are too narrow in the ball of the foot. I often feel like my feet can’t quite flatten out against the bottom of the skate. I’ll stand there wiggling my feet around, trying to get them to feel flat, and eventually I’ll just get used to it, or the skate will warm up and stretch enough that the feeling goes away, and I’ve never given it TOO much thought. Last night though, I was kind of curious and went to a website that sells skates online and decided to measure my feet.

I followed the instructions exactly and came up with 4.5 as the size I should be wearing based on the length of my foot, and then measured the width. My foot is 3 ½” wide, giving me a “width number” of 18. When I go to the ladies size chart though, an 18 in a size 4.5 is an EE width! I re-measured my feet and decided that I could probably read the width 1/8” narrower if I wanted, giving me a 17, which is still an E width (or a D in a size 5). I was sure I just had to be doing something wrong, and I was also wondering how you measure the heel width for split-width boots, so I kept searching and found another set of instructions for measuring the ball of the foot, this time measuring around the foot with a tape measure. That method gave me the exact same results.