View Full Version : Walking on skates

FSWer
01-10-2010, 11:49 PM
Ok. I must admit I do find it a little hard walking on skates (with Gaurds of course). But I have seen skaters walking with skates on as if the skates themselves are actually shoes. They don't ever woble or at least have to take tiny steps. I on the other hand have to keep my balance more every few inches. I don't walk as fast. Is there a curtan way to walk with skates that's different from walking with shoes? Or is it all just practice,and I'm just a Novice? Thanks.

sk8joyful
01-11-2010, 05:20 AM
Ok. I must admit I do find it a little hard walking on skates (with Gaurds of course).
But I have seen skaters walking with skates on as if the skates themselves are actually shoes.
Is there a curtan way to walk with skates that's different from walking with shoes? Or is it all just practice, and I'm just a Novice? Thanks.

I continue a Beginner-skater (mostly as I can't practice as often as I want); and yet I have & can run... ;) in my skates (no less without my guards, a few times), same as I do in my sneakers. - So yes, I'd say it just comes down to you more practicing this skill, in case you need to. - Enjoy your skating... :)

Clarice
01-11-2010, 07:47 AM
I kind of turn my toes out a little bit and "duck walk" in my skates. Or, if I"m not wearing my guards, I tip-toe on my toe picks so I'm not stepping on my edges.

dance2sk8
01-11-2010, 09:02 AM
I guess I am one of those that walk like they are shoes. I've never really had an issue unless I am too tired and don't pick my feet up enough and snag my toe pick into the flooring. LOL! :lol:

FSWer
01-11-2010, 10:10 AM
I guess I am one of those that walk like they are shoes. I've never really had an issue unless I am too tired and don't pick my feet up enough and snag my toe pick into the flooring. LOL! :lol: