View Full Version : Coming back post skating injury...

got2sk8
11-29-2009, 03:21 PM
I don't post very often, but I am seeking some insight from skaters that have injured themselves skating and what they go through when they come back to the ice. I realize that the skater, the injury, and psyche of the person all play a factor.

I have been skating for 10 years. I am an adult and I compete at USFS and various ISI competitions. I live, eat, sleep, and breathe skating...when I am not working. In September I fell during my prejuv MIF on a stupid RFO 3 turn. I smacked my knee into the ice. I was mortified because I did it right in front of the judges. I don't know how I recovered to even get myself in the right direction picking up from where I left off, but I did. I finished the test.

Then, 5 weeks later I duplicated the injury on footwork and had to be carried off the ice. To sum it up: I had knee surgery two weeks later. They fixed some level 4 arthritis on the knee (rounded it out), fixed a meniscus tear, and removed some bone fragments. I have had a complete ACL reconstruction on the other knee so this was fairly mild in comparison.

Therapy is going nicely and I am now doing the elliptical for 20 minutes in the a.m. and 20 in the p.m. I find my biggest challenge is mental. I am so longing for the ice, but I also worry a bit that I am going to refrain from being as intense as I used to be. I don't want that to happen. I don't want to be scared. I am used to (was) taking whatever abuse the sport demanded to work on my elements. The axel is my most recent challenge and that has resulted in many falls, but I never minded because I was working toward something that I have dreamed of for a long time.

Can any of you share your experience with me on how you made your comeback and what mental process you went through to regain your confidence? Thanks so much for reading.

Audryb
11-29-2009, 04:33 PM