View Full Version : Guide for a beginner - step by step - ?

GoRo
11-04-2009, 06:22 PM
Hi
I am a beginner skater from Istanbul, Turkey. As I said I am a newbie :) I wanna be a hockey style skater, not a figure skater.
I am able to do forward strokes ,glide, some simple turns and snowplow..

I still couldn't consider when I should practise backwards or crossovers. What should I do next?

I ask your help for a step by step guide which explains me the thecniques I have to practice one by one..

Can you write me in turn ?
For example ;

1-Skate with little steps
2-glide
3-do simple turns
4-be able to do snowplow and hockey stops
5-skate backward
6-?
7-?
?
?

Thank you

Skate@Delaware
11-04-2009, 06:41 PM
If you don't have access to a coach you will have limited gains from distance learning. Here is a good hockey skating resource:
http://www.hockeytutorial.com/

I suggest you take lessons in the figure skating style until you are good at basic skills, then you can cross over to hockey skating-the basic skills are the same.

Good Luck!!

Mrs Redboots
11-05-2009, 04:01 AM
The basic skills are the same across all disciplines of skating, so if you can find a learn-to-skate class where you live, then enrol.

Don't rule out learning at least some figure-skating skills - you can do both, you know! But for now, enrolling in a learn-to-skate class is the way to go.

GoRo
11-05-2009, 01:20 PM
thank you for your answers but I don't want to pay money for learn-to-skate classes. I think I am ok on my own. but you please put me in an order the exercises. Please tell me "first you learn .... then you learn... blablabla" "and if you able to do these now you can learn ...." ..... Is there anyone to help?

sk8rdad59
11-05-2009, 01:33 PM
GoRo my beginners guide is quite simple.... Get lessons... Adult beginner group lessons are typically inexpensive and there is no way to replace the valuable insight a trained professional can give you with advice on a forum like this.

Skittl1321