View Full Version : "Bartering" with your coach

RachelSk8er
10-23-2009, 08:33 AM
I've heard of adult skaters or parents with abilities or other things coaches need "bartering" their services in exchange for lessons.

I am going to be helping my coach with contract negotiations for a business he is starting, and he wanted to know how much I'm charging him. (I am a paralegal/legal intern for a company [and a 2nd yr law student] and I do exactly what he needs me to as my full-time job, so I actually have more experience in what he needs than his actual attorney. You don't need to even be an atty for this, most of the people I negotiate with are business people, brokers, etc.) My coach understands that I'm not licensed so I'm not working as an attorney and he's ok with that, he just needs someone who knows the industry. I'm estimating that I'll need to spend about 3-4 hrs at this point, possibly more work to come.

What is a fair rate to charge him? My billable rate at work when we bill my time to our joint venture partners is $120-130/hr (depending on the JV partner), I'm not charging him that much (heck, I don't even see close to half of that in my paycheck). I was thinking that $54 is fair--that's my coach's hourly rate, so he can just take it off my bill. That's saving him quite a bit of money (an atty would cost him a lot more), I'm getting some experience (I'd be negotiating the deal from the other side compared to what I do at work) and helping pay for some of my skating. Does that sound fair/reasonable, or should I be asking for more? less?

Skittl1321
10-23-2009, 08:53 AM
That sounds fair to me, and I think your logic to get the rate (he'd pay more than twice as much if he went to a law firm) is good . As long as you're both happy with it, it's a great deal.