View Full Version : SkateWrecks: Monday Injury Report

AgnesNitt
10-19-2009, 06:16 PM
Since Kander's not here I'll kick it off. Get a boo-boo this weekend? Face plant during a spiral? Do a Kayskate or an AgnesNitt and break an ankle? Share your pain.

patatty
10-19-2009, 06:55 PM
Face plant during a spiral today for me. Yikes! I have never done that before. I think I was thinking too much about avoiding the group of adults chatting in the middle of the rink and not paying attention to staying over my blade. I had the wind knocked out of me and bashed my pelvic bone pretty bad. My ears were even ringing for a while. I feel ok now, so there doesn't seem to be any real damage done.

Morgail
10-19-2009, 07:12 PM
I have an appointment with the orthopedist tomorrow. Bleh. I've got ice on my ankle right now. :halo:

TreSk8sAZ
10-19-2009, 07:40 PM
I've been coming back from major knee surgery (think - removing bone from my knee without putting anything back) which kept me off the ice for a year. I've been back on for a month now and starting to get MITF back. Working on getting spins back is killing my hips. But I finally have been allowed to jump again - got waltz, sal and toe-loop (ok, they're pretty pathetic right now, but at least I'm doing them). Tried a loop for the first time today. WOW. My right leg (i.e. surgery leg) is not strong enough. I went down hard on my left hip and am going to have a huge bruise!

Kat12
10-19-2009, 09:01 PM
Yay, was the face plant during spirals inspired by me? :)

The funny thing is, I can't for the life of me figure out where I go wrong (other than that I know I lean forward too far) because it always happens so fast that I can't figure out what happened...it's just one of those "I'm up, I'm down" things...so there's no moment of "this doesn't feel right" before I'm on the ice...and the most recent time, I didn't feel like I was too far forward at all. Hrm.

Isk8NYC
10-19-2009, 09:19 PM