View Full Version : "Go for it" juice gone

kander
09-25-2009, 01:38 AM
I don't know why, but over the last month or so my "go for it" juice has disappeared. I bail out of everything. It seems these things go in cycles (I hope). It's a reminder that figure skating is more mental than physical. That's one of the things that make it so appealing, the mind/body connection.

Does anybody have suggestions on how to get the "juice" back?

katz in boots
09-25-2009, 04:54 AM
I'm no expert, this is just my thoughts.

I suspect you are right, it goes in cycles, and that it may depend on what else is happening in life, recovering from a virus, stress in other areas of life, etc.
I suspect the only way out is through, and that technique is the vehicle. When it's not coming naturally,

Having said that, sometimes it is good to take pressure off yourself and rediscover the joy of skating. It's such a good feeling, the joy might be enough to get the 'juice' going again.

Skate@Delaware
09-25-2009, 07:25 AM
I just went through this; had a very hard time feeling any motivation at all! I was under a TON of pressure and had a lot of things going on at once (stuff with my mom, my son, pressure waiting for my clinical seat letter, and added pressure from my music teacher).

Add that to my skating which had stagnated......but reading over the posts from everyone helped, and I had to realize that sometimes right after a period where things seem to be at a screeching halt there comes explosive growth. I had to try harder to "push" myself instead of retreating into a comfort zone.

Have you subconsciously retreated into a comfort zone? Shake up your routine a bit and see what happens.

looplover
09-25-2009, 01:25 PM