View Full Version : Rules for public skate

Kat12
09-19-2009, 03:00 PM
I've thought of suggesting to the rink nearest where I live and where I skate most often (let's call it "home rink" since I'm so tired of calling it "rink nearest where I live," lol) that they make up some rules for public skating. They don't have any posted and I think maybe they need them, in large part for parents who turn tiny kids loose on the ice and don't supervise them/teach them how to be a considerate skater. It wouldn't be a big deal if it was just an annoyance for me, but it's not too long since I've been a beginner skater just trying to get around the rink without falling, so I know how dangerous (and terrifying) it could be to have obstructions in your way, whether it's a fallen kid who doesn't get up for ten minutes, or an abandoned ice walker that you don't see because it's white AND you're busy looking at your feet, or a hockey puck flying in front of your feet...

There are no ice monitors so it's not like there would be someone watching to make sure the rules are followed, but maybe if they were posted, then A. people would see them and realize that they may be doing something rude/dangerous without realizing it, and B. other skaters could complain about rude/dangerous behavior, knowing that there were official rules on their side and there would be no "but I didn't know I couldn't do that!!" arguments or being told by management, "sorry, we don't have rules, deal with it."

Here are some of what I came up with, based on what I've seen posted at other rinks and problems I've observed; please add any others you've commonly seen: