View Full Version : Life of Blades....

herniated
07-03-2009, 08:11 PM
Hi all, there seems to be a lot of blade talk recently. Well, I have another one. I bought my Pattern 99's last April 2008 and they seem to be almost 'done' so to speak. There is not much metal left on them. I have been wearing this style for at least 10 years and they usually last 2 to 3 years. And I have really only been skating on them for 9 months because last summer I didn't skate. And...I have been using the same guy to sharpen them for years and have not been skating more hours or getting more sharpenings. I skate 3 hours per week.

I think I know the answer to my question already. The question being how long should these things last? I have a sinking feeling that it is my guy has been taking off too much. I'm planning on having a conversation with him regarding this and how my blades have always lasted much longer. My DH wants me to try to get him (skate guy) to replace them - free.

Opinions?

dbny
07-03-2009, 08:17 PM
I think you are right. He has been taking off too much. There is no way they should be gone yet. If you do have that conversation with him, you know you will have to find another sharpener if he refuses to replace the blades, but then, I guess you would want to do that anyway, if he doesn't think he is at fault and has no other plausible explanation.

If you don't mind, I would like to know who it is (PM me please), since I get my blades done in your neck of the woods. I was very unhappy with my last sharpening by my usual guy, and am switching. Don't want to jump from the frying pan into the fire though.

doubletoe
07-04-2009, 12:31 AM
Mine typically last about 3 years as well, with a sharpening every 6 weeks.