View Full Version : Getting rid of the toe underpush on foward Crossovers

ibreakhearts66
03-22-2009, 01:08 AM
Hi everybody.
This is my first time asking a coaching question on here. Anyways, I've started teaching more group lessons at my rink, and was wondering if anyone had advice on getting rid of the toe underpush in forward crossovers. It's something I see a lot, but haven't quite figured out how best to correct. I've tried telling skaters to think more about pushing sideways on the underpush, and also telling them (for now) to not think about pushing at all. Except for a few rare skaters, this doesn't seem to help. Any tips/exercises would be extremely appreciated.

Thanks!

katz in boots
03-22-2009, 02:32 AM
By toe-push, do you mean using the toe-pick?

If so, the advice I give is to think of the heel always being the last thing to leave the ice. It isn't, of course, but just thinking of it that way means your toe-pick certainly won't be.

Also probably more knee bend would help most skaters. I'm not a coach though.

Bunny Hop
03-22-2009, 07:05 AM
Also probably more knee bend would help most skaters. I'm not a coach though.Also not a coach, but this is an issue I have big problems with, but am now beginning to more consistently correct. More knee bend does seem to be the answer in my case - it means I'm in a much better position to not catch the toe.

LWalsh
03-22-2009, 08:23 AM
This always works for me. Take the students to the wall. Have them face the boards and practice "crossovers" along the boards with their feet perpendicular to the boards. (pick foot up and over the skating foot, repeat) They need to feel that the motion is sideways not forward. Once they get that feeling they won't toe push.

Lwalsh

CoachPA
03-22-2009, 08:24 AM