View Full Version : Spinning tips!

stepherroo444
02-16-2009, 04:35 PM
I have been skating for 2 years and my spins still stink! I can only get around like 2 or 3 times and my sit spins arn't like low at all. I JUST got my spin entrance like on Friday (It's Monday now).

ANY tips would be greatly appreciated! I am only really doing 1 foot spins and 1 foot sit spins! My coach hasn't taught me camels but I've tried them on my own before so tips for that would help to! :halo: :D

dbny
02-16-2009, 06:27 PM
I just discovered something weird that is working well for me and also for my students when I tell them to try it. I noticed that when spinning, my hands were very relaxed, with no definitive pose, so I tightened up my middle fingers, basically straightening my entire hand. When I do that, it seems to move right up my arms and stabilize my shoulders! I'm now telling students to stretch through their fingertips all the time.

Mrs Redboots
02-17-2009, 08:18 AM
I don't spin very well, either, and nor does my husband, although his spin is marginally more reliable than mine. Oddly, we have a great pairs' spin, though.

However, what I've noticed, through watching endless Step, Spin, Spiral competitions is that there seem to be two sorts of spinners - those who just do an unchecked 3-turn and hope for the best (which is what we tend to do!) and those who know, either instinctively or from careful teaching, exactly what to do with their bodies to cause the spin to happen. I think it is to do with closing your free hip (right hip, assuming you spin anti-clockwise) and really pulling in, and once you can do that, you then push down.... still not quite sure how, myself! But it's a definite technique, and I recognise it when I see it!

Isk8NYC
02-17-2009, 08:39 AM
I love to spin and I like teaching spins as well. It's hard to say what you're doing right or wrong without seeing you skate. So here's a few things to check before you try any new spin techniques: