View Full Version : How do I support my 8 year old?

ukmum
02-11-2009, 02:28 AM
OK folks I am new to all this and am feeling a bit unsure of myself.

Daughter is 8 and has been having private lessons for about 4 months. She did a very basic group programme before that.

The coach asked to talk to me and told me that my daughter has very "soft knees" and almost perfect line. Can anyone tell me what this means?

She went on to tell me that she thinks she could be really good - better than anyone at the rink. How can she tell such a thing when my daughter is still a beginner? Do coaches say this a lot to get more cash out of you?

Also, and the bit that I'm most unsure of is that she told my daughter she could be the best at the rink. Not sure how to handle this as a) don't want her saying this to her friends b) what if it is just a line? c) what if the potential is there and she doesn't make it, wont saying this sort of thing be damaging.

Lastly, if she does have this potential, and she decides to go for it, what am I in for?

Sessy
02-11-2009, 06:32 AM
I don't think you should worry so much about the situation of disappointment if she thinks she's the best at the rink and it doesn't work out in the end - in that end, she'll be a lot more mature than she is now and capable of understanding that simple talent isn't always enough and that there are a lot of different circumstances that come into play. I think what you should worry about is the pressure placed on this 8 year old's shoulders. If she's "the best" and has "great potential", then the pressure to live up to that - especially during performances - is tremendous. You could be looking at performance/exam/stage fear at some point, plus, she could lose the joy in skating.