View Full Version : Getting an edge in figures

AgnesNitt
01-26-2009, 07:33 PM
so here's my problem.
I can get an edge, I can float on my edges like a butterfly riding a thermal to the clouds--as long as I'm in a serpentine.
HOWEVER, when I do figures you can clearly see that while I feel I'm on the outside edge, my inside edge is still touching. I have good body position inside the circle, I'm doing as much as I can, yet the :frus: inside edge still hits the ice.
So, being an engineer, I analyze. I decide that my habit of skating with loosey goosey boots because I've got old lady feet, is letting the boot dip enough to allow the blade go on the flat.
I get off the ice, retie my boots with a fierceness, and lo and behold--it works!
For the right foot.
The left foot is still on the flat. I mean it's not a flat flat--the tracings show that the inside is grazing and the outside is taking the brunt of the force, but twin-lined it is.
Right now I'm using a 9/16 radius of hollow, so my tracings are distinct. I also have the blades tilted to make it easier to hit the outsde. I don't see what else I can do.
Coach fixes my problem by touching my shoulder with one finger--and I'm on the edge, so it's got to be a body thing. She's reassuring that it will come with practice.
Still I'm spending half my ice time with my butt up in the air while I check my tracings--I'd like to get past this.
So any suggestions?

icedancer2
01-26-2009, 07:57 PM
Lift your free hip a tad more?

dbny
01-26-2009, 08:55 PM
Unless you are using figure blades, you are giving yourself a very hard time. I was concerned about the same thing, and asked my coach, who told me that figure blades are wider and flatter specifically to enable that clean one edge tracing you are looking for. I'm not saying it;s impossible, just that when figures were required, the skaters had that edge (pun intended), and it's probably not worth your effort to try without it.

saras
01-26-2009, 10:04 PM