View Full Version : Amazing Skater?

dbny
01-17-2009, 11:31 AM
On the public session yesterday, after my lesson, I spoke with a woman who was there with a group of tots & young children. She was wearing low end figure skates and was clearly doing OK. She told me I was an "amazing skater", whereupon I confessed that I'm really a relative beginner. You all know that I don't jump and can barely manage a one foot spin, so the most impressive things she might have seen me do were some F cross rolls and power pulls. Still, it made my day! I know we have all had those moments when it has taken very little to impress the uninitiated. What are some of your favorites?

TreSk8sAZ
01-17-2009, 01:01 PM
When I was at Pac Coasts at Culver City, I entered a solo dance event (14step). I had an ok skate, not great though. I got off the ice and was walking back to my mom when a woman with two young children (like 4 and 6) stopped me by saying "look girls, it's your favorite skater!" Apparently they had devided I was their favorite of the day. They were so shy and cute! I talked to them for a bit, and the older one skated and the younger one decided she wanted to skate after watching all the pretty dresses. Adorable!

Sessy
01-17-2009, 02:24 PM
Yes that's such a wonderfull feeling, dbny!

My favourite was when I was practicing my forward biellmann spiral and I was done and moved onto something else and then this mom with a little boy comes up to me, the son hiding behind her legs, and she says her son's too timid to ask himself but he thought that was an amazing thing and whether I could do it again? :lol: Needless to say I was glad to, and also glad to teach him the beginnings of a 2-foot-spin, which he pulled off rather nicely.

hanca
01-17-2009, 02:39 PM