View Full Version : A few stoning questions...

badaxel
12-14-2008, 07:15 PM
Okay, I've asked for a new dress for Christmas, in the hopes that it will motivate me to get my Novice MIF together so that I can wear the dress. Anyway, I'd like to stone the dress, but I have some questions for all of you master stoners out there!!

1. Which is better- the BeJeweler, the Kandi Kane? And what about the Professional Touch- made by Kandi Kane, but prettier?

2. What if you want to use non- standard shapes, like a tear drop? Do you have to resort to E6000 or GemTac? Or is there a way to do it with hotfix?

3. Does it look bad if you mix colored and crystal AB stones?

4. What about non-Swarovski stones, are they any good? WOuld it make sense for me to use cheaper stones, since this is my first attempt, or will I be unhappy with the results?

Thanks in advance for your help!!!

sk8tmum
12-14-2008, 07:29 PM
I use the Bejeweler; it works great for me. Also I can buy individual tips easily from my retailer if I need spare ones. I also use 2 at the same time, so that I have 2 different tip sizes hot for doing different sizes of stones ...

Non-standard stones: I use the hot spot tip (it's solid) and melt the stones on bit by bit. After they set for about 24 hours, I check them and remelt if needed. I find that I have more hassles with the non-standard ones, but, they are still very easy with hotfix.

I mix coloured, crystal AB and coloured AB regularly; it depends on the dress and the style. The crystal AB complement many coloured stones well. Check out a dress or two that you like for ideas on how to creatively stone. I always plan before I stone ... it's hard to undo placed stones.